Campaign for the Homeless


Volunteer sorts donations at the annual clothing & diaper drive.This committee oversees the participation of HBA members, firms and corporations in the annual HBA Campaign for the Homeless effort by coordinating the Fall Clothing and Diaper Drive. The committee coordinates the delivery of the clothes and diapers to the HBA office. The committee then sorts and boxes the clothes and diapers for distribution to various nonprofit organizations.



2019 Fall Drive Event Summary


Donations received

A woman folds a shirt on top of a table

9,121 items of clothing

A man stands among several boxes of diapers

9,547 disposable diapers

A woman with a suitcase stands beside a lit Christmas tree

157 luggage pieces for foster youth

Four women working at a table smile at the viewer

(Purchased 33 suits for Dress for Success and 1,760 additional diapers)


AVANCE Houston, Inc.

Career Gear Houston

Casa de Esperanza

Covenant House Texas

De George at Union Station

Dress for Success Houston

Emergency Aid Coalition

The Harris Center

Houston Area Women’s Center

Lord of the Streets

Nehemiah Center

No More Victims, Inc.

Star of Hope Mission

U.S. Vets at Midtown Terrace

Sorting volunteers

Davina Bloom

Vanessa Chavez

Ruth Conley

Chris DeMeo

Felicia Dorteh

Keri Fuller

Keith Houston

Valeria Jackson

Daniel Lim

Kendall Lowe

Tony Lucisano

Hon. Erin Lunceford

Stephanie McGraw

Amanda McLeroy

Christina Platter

David Rusk

Selena Russell

Bonnie Simmons

Kathleen Spangler

Nikki Wise



66 donors


Thank you, veteran gift bag volunteers & donors!


HBA Campaign for the Homeless Committee
Davina Bloom
Hon. Erin Lunceford
Sarah Migl Munguia
Christina Platter
Mariann Sears

BMC Software Logo
Linda Caldwell
Sharon Clack
Mary Hayes
Tari Hoekel
Holly Joldzic
Laura Kieschnick
John King
Irene Kosturakis
Marcus Knoerr
Monika Lim
Sarah Menendez
Robin Preussel Phillips
John Robert
Dayo Seton
Patrick Tagtow


Volunteers from BMC Software



Lance Abney
Kelly Baca
BMC Software
Mary Clark
Jessie Coleman
Don DePasquale
Joanne Ericksen
John Girvan
Harris County District Attorney’s Office
Gary C. Johnson
Narima Khan
John King
Barbara Lauterbach
Hon. Erin Lunceford
Amanda McLeroy
Erma McLeroy
David Mendoza
Murrah & Killough PLLC
Nathan Sommers
Vickie Peacock
Reed Smith LLP
Ron Riojas
Anna Robshaw
Tara Shockley
Thompson & Horton LLP (donated the bags!)


Volunteers stuffing holiday gift bags


2019-2020 Co-Chairs:

The Hon. Erin Lunceford, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP
Kathleen Spangler, Vinson & Elkins LLP

For more information on this committee, contact Bonnie Simmons at or (713) 759-1133.